New NPS Omnibus CD


As you will have seen the NPS have new CD out - The Omnibus with tracks from many current pipers, Its "creator" is Anthony Robb, here are few facts regarding it creation from Anthony:



"This album attempts to reflect the current state of Northumbrian piping by distilling
the music of 16 pipers and 8 other musicians into a 70 minute package. A
conservative estimate suggests that this represents over 80 000 hrs of musical
endeavour and development on the part of the contributors and explains, perhaps,
why the project took twice as long as the average CD to make.
The aim from the outset was to showcase more than the usual virtuoso suspects.
Blending diverse levels and approaches to produce a strong cohesive selection
provided many interesting hours of intense listening. Comments received so far
suggest that the initial aim has been achieved:

Mike Nelson: ‘absolutely brilliant’
Nick Hopkinson: ‘tremendously successful’
Maureen Davison: ‘sounds great – a challenge well met’


Buy ‘The Omnibus’ and see if you agree!


Track list and Artists


01 The Keelman Ower Land/Mary Armstrong – Andy May (3:59)
02 Warksburn Waltz/Vals efter PeterCarlsson – Andy & Margaret Watchorn (3:38)
03 My Dearie Sits Ower Late Up – Chris Ormston (3:29)
04 Wild Hills o’ Wannies/ Mr Preston’s Hornpipe – Alice Burn & Emily Hoile (5:25)
05 Whisky’s Not Enough – Anthony Robb & Stewart Hardy (5:35)
06 Farewell To the Albatross – Kim Bibby-Wilson & John Bibby (2:00)
07 Carrick Hornpipe/Lads of Alnwick/Holey Ha’penny – Alice Burn ( 5:10)
08 The Recruiting Officer/ Fourpence Halfpenny Farthing – Beat Weber, Gerry Murphy & Guido Helmig (2:36)
09 The Gypsy’s Lullaby/93 Not Out – Paul Knox (4:26)
10 The Redesdale Hornpipe/Proudlock’s Hornpipe – Anthony Robb & Jimmy Little (3:17)
11 Meadow In May/Merry Thresher – Gerry Murphy (4:02)
12 Kielder Fells/I’ll Get Wed In My Auld Claes/Owen Hackett’s/The Real Thing – Andrew Davison & Kathy Anderson (3:51)
13 Catcherside – Andy & Margaret Watchorn (3:33)
14 Old Hag You Have Killed Me/The Rambling Pitchfork/My Darling Asleep – Dave Shaw (2:39)
15 Memories of Wallington/Jamie Allen/De’il Amang the Tailors – Richard Butler & Jan Bennett (4:08)
16 The Marquis of Waterford/ The Omnibus – Andy May (2:57)
17 Blowzabella/A Mile to Ride/Drops of Brandy – Nick Leeming & Louise Woodman (3:48)
18 What Is Lost and Can’t Be Found/Catherine Chalmer/Drink the Worts and Spill the Beer – Becky Taylor (3:09)
19 Grey Bull Hornpipe/Wark Football Team – The Kathryn Tickell Band (2:33)

Total playing time 70:25