How do you place tone holes?

Pipemaking, reedmaking & maintanence. Expert pipemakers are eager to answer your questions

How do you place tone holes?

Postby alaseridan » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:40 pm

I'm very new to pipe making and have done few experiments and keyed prototypes. I'm wondering how you calculate the tone hole placement on the chanter, I haven't seen any information about this. Is there a specific formula or other method used for placing tone holes?

I've done some research into acoustic physics and went as far as to create a calculator based off of some equations used for flutes. It seems to give good results but judging from pictures (never seen a set in person :o ) I'm not sure how correct my results are. For example the high b (highest keyed hole) in a G set with a 4.3mm bore would be placed at a distance of about 81mm (little over 3 inches) from the point where the air stream splits (somewhere in the reed). I'm ordering some new steel to make a bore drill with so I haven't been able to test my results.

Furthermore, I've seen the wealth of information on Mike's machine concepts page. I noticed that the chanter drawings are marked as "unchecked." Has anyone made the 7-keyed concert G chanter from his drawings?

Any information is greatly appreciated!
alaseridan

Full Name: Nate Hallahan

Re: How do you place tone holes?

Postby pipemakermike » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:20 pm

I have based my hole positions on the work of Colin Ross. I have made a few tweaks but nothing much.

It would be really useful if some other pipemakers posted their dimensions so that we could see how they compare.

One thing to consider is that finding a perfect hole position will always be a compromise. I aim to have the drilled hole set a bit flat so that I can undercut it towards the reed as that seems to give a better tone.
pipemakermike

Full Name: Mike Nelson

Postby alaseridan » Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:09 pm