Trials and tribulations of a novice reed maker

Pipemaking, reedmaking & maintanence. Expert pipemakers are eager to answer your questions

Trials and tribulations of a novice reed maker

Postby TimGreaves » Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:08 pm

Hello!

Richard Evans has encouraged me to sign up and post here with novice questions on chanter reed making. Hopefully they will be of use/encouragement to fellow novices and stimulate discussion (and advice from the experienced reed making community!).

I am quite new to Northumbrian pipes and started playing with the Oxford group two years ago. Having seen Mike Nelson and Andy May making reeds and thought ’that looks fun’ and then bought Colin Ross’ book and thought ‘that looks manageable’, it only needed a little encouragement from Richard to get me started. A few things had been putting me off, but shouldn’t have done:

* I've never made anything for a musical instrument before
* I've never worked to sub-millimetre tolerances
* I had none of the required tools
* I'd never dared touch the chanter reed in my (hired) instrument for fear of breaking it
* I'm still very much a novice piper

I’m now two months into the learning process. Here are my novice experiences!

— Tool Kit

The first couple of weeks were spent assembling tool kit based on Colin’s list. This was a leap of faith as a significant investment - I reckon a bit over 200 quid in total, of which nearly half was a really good gouge and digital callipers. The former I got from Germany from http://www.fwengelke.de and is a beautifully made tool. The latter I bit the bullet and got a good Mitutoyo instrument. I have not regretted either one bit. Almost everything else I got in two bulk orders from Amazon and eBay which made life very simple. I have everything in one tool box and try not to use the tools for anything other than reed making so none get mislaid.