Beginners

A general forum for all sorts of piping related discussions. If in doubt, post here. All questions answered<G>

Beginners

Postby workers and drones » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:57 pm

Played now for almost 2 years and now on the verge of giving up - a feeling of sink or swim comes to mind and the lack of a group which I feel I can join in with leaves little option but to play on my own and find a way forward to develop what I think is a style of my own whether this sticks with the traditions of current playing methods or not! or maybe just stop playing altogether; the crossroads has been reached! The problem is that all groups are run on very similar lines with memory, and rotational choice playing taking place always with little or no deviation from this method. You seem to have to fall into one of two categories - an absolute beginner where there may be some guidance and some fairly easy tunes are played or you miraculously become an expert player aquiring overnight the thousands of tunes in the memory bank ready to pull to the fore at a split-seconds notice; there seems to be a big void in the middle! My guess is that there will be others who may feel there is a gradual progressive stepping up of groups catching all at different entry levels and encouraging a progressive path - I haven't found this to be the case. One certainty is that if I continue to play I will have developed on my own or found help from sources which have the time to personalise their guidance towards what could be the next stage of development for me. My assistance and advice to new pipers is glean, badger, demand as much as you can from whoever you can get it from initially, then go it alone!. Anybody know a good teacher!! or a group which works in a different way?
workers and drones

Re: Beginners

Postby GrahamRB » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:28 pm

Hi Ws&Ds
Whereabouts are you located... UK/US/wherever, N, S, E or W ?